Layered Chocolate Pie

 

(Mmmm…)

I am going to start this by saying that the picture does NOT do it justice. Seriously, you can’t eat the picture… Anyways, one of my all time favorite desserts is Chocolate Silk Pie that comes from a BOX, KID YOU NOT. Jello, I don’t know what you put in that box, but it is hands down delicious chocolate goodness that I have been missing for a minute. Unfortunately for you, I have found my Paleo replacement.

As always, Lindsay was my guinea pig for this one. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing that she always has to try out my desserts. She might secretly hate me for making her scarf down one chocolately sweet treat after another… In fact, I think she’s partly thankful that she is out of town more than half the time now so she can go on a dessert detox. Ha, who am I kidding?! She loves chocolate as much as I do. I mean, who would be mad about someone feeding you chocolate?! She makes me take fish oil and eat all my vegetables… So I ask you, who is the better roommate here? JUST JOKING! Thanks to her, these Paleo treats are possible. Otherwise, I would be a good ten pounds more out of shape, not doing crossfit, not eating healthy and still never taking vitamins. Life just wouldn’t be as sweet.

Speaking of sweet, if you like chocolate… you should enjoy this. It definitely hit the spot for me the day after our Grapevine Gauntlet. My body still hurts by the way! Wish we could do it all again this weekend… Love our Grapevine Crossfit people!! Until then, give this a go and let me know what you think!

Layered Chocolate Pie

Ingredients

Crust:

  • 2 Tbs melted Coconut Oil
  • 1 cup Almond Flour
  • 2 Tbs Cocoa Powder

Nut Butter Layer:

  • 6 Nut Butter Cups (if you haven’t already made these, go to my previous post and make them. Seriously, you NEED to gobble these up and then put the rest in this pie)

Filling:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Mix all crust ingredients into your glass pie pan and spread with your fork until evenly distributed.
  • Place all six nut butter cups on top of your crust evenly and put into the oven for 5-10 minutes. Once the nut butter cups have melted, spread around the crust with your fork.
  • Set the crust aside.
  • Throw all filling ingredients into a food processor or blender and blend until it is creamy smooth.
  • Scoop the filling on top of the crust and place imediately into the freezer.
  • Leave it in the freezer for at least an hour, then cut a nice big slice to eat… or leave the slice in the fridge and take your fork directly to the pie plate… Yum.

Whipped Topping (Optional)

Ingredients

  • 1 can coconut milk (refridgerate first)
  • 2 Tbs vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup honey

Directions

  • Scoop out the coconut milk into a bowl
  • Add honey and vanilla (do this to taste, any combination will work)
  • Whisk together and store in the fridge until you are ready to serve!

(Lindsay and I after the Gauntlet… first official roommate picture, so had to share!)

2 responses to “Layered Chocolate Pie

  1. You’ve gone over board with this Cobbs! I want that in my belly right now! If I was Lindsay I would be 100 lbs heavier than I’m supposed to be! No but really… this one looks like a winner! Congrats on the Gauntlet so proud of my Combo!

Leave a Reply

